Field of Glory AAR – Caesars Landing 55 B.C. Part Two

During turn four I begin to swing my legions around to the west, attempting to form a line and contain the British. In the process, my legions manage to rout another of the Britons’ infantry units. Unfortunately, one my own legions is downgraded from disrupted to fragmented.

End of Turn Four

Before I discuss the Britons’ turn, it is worth seeing if you can spot the blunder in my legionary line above.

Found it yet? The third legion, counting from bottom to top and east to west, is facing north. The chariot to his west is in position to attack. And it does, getting a rear/flank attack advantage, and causing my legion to fragment. If I were playing a human opponent, rather than the less than completely competent AI, these kind of blunders would cost me the game. In my favor, the routed infantry attempts to retreat through his own units, disrupting the other units and taking further losses.

Beginning of Turn Five

Seeing my chance to complete my line, I move my southern legions to (1) attack the isolated British skirmisher in the southern portion of the map and (2) attack the chariot, hoping to rout it. The British skirmisher routs, and the chariot is fragmented. My remaining units in the east should be able to pick off that last skirmisher, netting me two additional points, and putting me up to 22. If I can rout the two disrupted units in front of my line, that will take my total to 26. They should also disrupt the units behind them, making my job easier. I keep one legion in the rear of the line, planning to take the place of any legion that routs.

End of Turn Five

Nothing serious happened during the Britons’ turn. It was so uneventful that I forgot to take a screenshot. Mostly shuffling around the line. During my turn six, I managed to eliminate the British chariot to the south, disrupt the skirmisher in the east, and rout one of the infantry in the northern area. That allowed me to close up the line, and, as far as I can tell, ensures my victory.

End of Turn Six

Turn seven was similarly uneventful for the Britons, and similarly lacking a screen shot. If it were a human, rather than an AI, I’d say he was demoralized. My two fragmented legions rally to disrupted, which makes my life much easier. I push them forward, routing three British units. The Britons are not long for this world, I’m afraid.

End of Turn Seven

The situation at the beginning of turn eight sees no improvement for the Britons. I will certainly win, either by routing the skirmisher in the east, or by routing one of the two fragmented infantry in the north.

Beginning of Turn Eight

Ultimately, I only fragment the southern skirmisher, but manage to rout two infantry to the north. That puts me at 36 points, 4 more than required for victory. The Britons only managed to cause 4 break points worth of damage, which is a pretty good exchange.

 

The Situation After My Victory

So, looking back on this game, I think one of the crucial victories for me came early (back in part one of the AAR), when I managed to eliminate the British commander. This kept his units from rallying, which let me whittle them down pretty easily. Also, the British let me form a line, forcing them to cross the river and subject their units to my superior (local) numbers.

The more I play Field of Glory, the more I enjoy it. Perhaps it is time to start taking my lumps in the PBEM arena again. The PBEM server system used by Slitherine in Field of Glory is really fantastic. For the few of you who haven’t used it, it keeps all of your turns server side, and handles all of the exchange between you and your opponent. After dealing with VASSAL and Cyberboard, which can be frustrating sometimes, it is nice to have such an easy system.

Leave a Reply

