Battle of the Blogs – Bzura End of Game

On his last turn, Ian was unable to break through my lines at Warsaw. It turns out that setting my units to “fight to the death” mode probably ensured that the game end in a draw, rather than in a German victory.

The Game Ends in a Draw

The final position shows my remaining units, under siege by the Germans:

The Situation at the End of the Game

I feel like I was lucky to pull out the draw. I made some mistakes early, which enabled Ian to pocket and destroy my army in western Poland. If I had made better use of some of my army to block river crossings, I may have been able to keep one of the roads open, which would get my units into the Warsaw perimeter for the win.

I think Ian could have done some things differently as well. I haven’t read his side of the posts, and the fog of war hid his units, but I can’t help but feel that he used too many to encircle my western army. If he had diverted some of those units towards the Warsaw perimeter, he may have been able to break through a turn earlier, which should have been enough to let him capture Warsaw for the win.

All-in-all, I really enjoyed playing Ian in the first Battle of the Blogs. We are planning to continue the series, after a short break. I don’t often play longer games PBEM, so it is nice to get the opportunity to play someone and document it.

One Response to Battle of the Blogs – Bzura End of Game

  1. Troy says:

    Absolutely fascinated by this series of posts (from both authors). I am quite glad to have found some wargaming blogs and I will be sure to watch this space in the future.

Leave a comment