Field of Glory AAR – Caesars Landing 55 B.C. Part One

This Field of Glory scenario concerns Julius Caesar’s invasion of Britain. The Britons have seen Caesar coming, and plan to meet him at the beaches, before his cavalry can land. This gives this scenario a unique shape and feel. Plus, it lets the Roman player command a Legion without those pesky cavalry units. The Legion’s strength is in its infantry, after all.

 

The Scenario

The map for this scenario is particularly interesting. It is long and narrow, with a river dividing the western quarter of the map from the remainder. The Britons start with their units bunched around the the river, with only a few skirmishers in a position to engage the Roman army early.

 

Scenario Setup

The Britons are superior in number of units, but in a poor position to take advantage of those numbers. I plan to move the two legions north and west, to attempt to block the Britons on the other side of the river, and prevent the units that have crossed from surrounding me. I will use my eastern most auxiliaries and skirmishers to engage the British skirmishers. Hopefully I can engage the British skirmishers with my own, preventing them from evading, and then close with my auxiliaries and destroy the skirmishers. I can pick up half the break points I need to win the scenario by eliminating the skirmishers on my side of the river. The final thing worth noting is the position of the British command unit. It is in the front of the army. If I destroy it, they may have command issues for the rest of the scenario.

To begin the turn, I move my skirmishers to engage theirs, engaging 4 of the 8 on my side of the map. The legions move north, preparing to swing west.

 

End of Turn One

The Britons oblige me by not pushing their units eastward, rather remaining bottlenecked in the west. They run one chariot forward, which engages my skirmisher on the western edge of the army. This is not a significant problem, however, because I can swing my legions around to engage the chariots. I continue the push northwards, and rout several of the British skirmishers.

 

End of Turn Two

During the Britons’ turn, they moved their chariots forward and formed a line between the river and the western hills. There is one mistake that I can take advantage of. The Britons left their commander in a position where I can flank him, if I can rout the chariot to his south and the skirmisher in front of him.

 

Beginning of Turn Three

Things went just as planned for turn three. I moved my legions to the north and west again, and was able to flank the British commander, resulting in his rout and destruction. I was able to rout the southern chariot as well, leaving the British with one, pushed back against the river. I was also able to drive a skirmisher off the map, picking up an additional victory point.

 

End of Turn Three

The British push their infantry units forward, preparing to engage my line. They do not push enough forward to form a coherent line, however, which gives me the ability to double up on their front line units. This will help me ideally form a more complete line during turn four.

 

Beginning of Turn Four

Next Post: The line develops at the river.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

