Field of Glory AAR: Corinth 146 B.C. – Turns 1-5

Continuing with the theme of ancients, I’ve decided to play through a quick scenario in Field of Glory. I chose Corinth 146 B.C., a medium complexity scenario, mostly to get a chance to play as the Romans, given how badly I was mauled by the Romans in Hannibal. Plus, I love taking the legions out against a hoplite phalanx.

The Scenario

The situation on turn one is a pretty standard Roman legionary formation. The first line contains the auxiliary slingers and bowmen on the flanks, with the legionary velites in the middle. The second line contains auxiliary infantry and cavalry on the flanks, while the hastati, principes, and triarii making up the center. The units on the right flank are out of command, which could pose a problem if I do not move a commander over there.

The Greek formation is similar, with the Pike hoplites in the center, flanked by offensive spearmen. Unlike the light Roman cavalry, the Greek cavalry is armored.

The Battle Lines, Turn One

The plan for this battle is to advance my auxiliaries on my right flank, while refusing my left flank. The center will move up and hold, allowing the auxiliaries on the right flank to turn inward and attack the Greek infantry in their vulnerable flanks and rear.

Turn one consists of a general advance, with harassing fire from my skirmishers.

End of Turn One

The Greeks bunch their hoplites in the center, and split off a detachment of spearmen and light cavalry to deal with my flankers. Heavy fire from their skirmishers disrupts on of my Velites.

Beginning of Turn Two

I push my legionary troops forward and spread them into a proper battle line. The auxiliaries on the left side stay slightly behind the main force. The auxiliaries on the right side push ahead. One of my auxiliary infantry descends into anarchy after driving off a Greek skirmisher, but the presence of a leader nearby should clear that up shortly.

End of Turn Two

Turn three is unfortunately missing screen shots. Here is the gist of what happened. The Greek phalanx in the center closed with and engaged my legions, disrupting a unit of hastati. A unit of armored cavalry engaged my auxiliaries on the right flank, while a unit of spearmen engaged one of my units of cavalry on the right. A strong attack from my auxiliary infantry managed to disrupt the armored cavalry, which will likely disengage in the near future. My left flank becomes separated from the main body of my army, and is attacked by a large detachment of Greek spearmen. They have an armored cavalry command unit there to help however, and should survive.

Beginning of Turn Four

During turn four, my line firms up, and the turning movement begins in earnest. The split between my center and left flank widens, however.

End of Turn Four

During the Greek turn, his disrupted armored cavalry unit disengages, and his command unit moves in to take its place. It does massive damage to my to my auxiliary infantry, routing a unit. This disrupts my command unit on the right flank, which later withdraws. The Greeks also manage to rout a disrupted auxiliary on the right flank. Not all goes well for the Greeks, however. Their pikemen unit, fragmented on the last turn, goes into full on rout after a devastating blow from my legions.

Beginning of Turn Five

My goal for turn five: To flank the infantry unit engaged with my cavalry on the right, where I will get a rear/flanking attack bonus. Also, I want to use my skirmishers on both flanks to engage the Greek skirmishers, potentially in hand to hand combat, to force them off the map.

Next Post: Things fall apart; the center cannot hold; mere anarchy is loosed upon the world.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

